Are you planning on starting a business in the state of New Jersey? If so, you will want to take a long look at the requirements set forth by the Department of the Treasury. All businesses that operate as a legal entity in New Jersey (corporation, limited liability company or limited partnership) must file formation documents with the state.
The aforementioned requirement applies to all businesses that operate in New Jersey, even if they are headquartered out of the state. The business is required to file a formation authorization certificate with the state. It is an easy process -- one that can be completed on the internet. All businesses that operate for a profit, as well as out of state nonprofits, must pay a $125 filing fee. All in-state nonprofits must pay a $75 filing fee.
Form NJ-REG must be completed for all businesses, both in-state and out of state, to register for tax purposes. When this form is filed it ensures that the business is registered with the right tax identification number. Any business that has employees must acquire a Federal Identification Number, or FEIN. If your company does not have a FEIN, you can apply for one online.
If your business wants to contract with any public agency that operates in the state, including the government, schools or casinos, it must be able to show proof of registration.
If you are planning to start a business in Morristown you should speak with an experienced business law attorney about your situation. You will want to protect your rights as a business owner and ensure that all the proper documents are filed.
Source: State of New Jersey Department of the Treasury, "FORMATION AND REGISTRATION," accessed Oct. 05, 2017